This website uses cookies. Continue to use the site as normal if you accept this.

Silesian University of Technology

wersja polska

You are visitor no. 614549

Department of Power Electronics, Electrical Drives and Robotics
About Department / History
Brief history:

The history of the Department of Power Electronics, Electrical Drives and Robotics, KENER, begins in the year 1961, when the Department of Electrical Drives emerged and was headed by Wladyslaw Sztwiertnia, Ph.D., Eng., until 1962 when it was handed over to prof. Zygmunt Gogolewski. Next, in 1963, prof. Zygmunt Kuczewski was appointed the head of the Department. After prof. Kuczewski's retirement the group of academic staff was headed by Krzysztof Krykowski, Ph.D., D.Sc., Eng. (1989-1994), Kazimierz Gierlotka, Ph.D., D.Sc., Eng. (1994-1997) and Bogusław Grzesik, Ph.D., D.Sc., Eng. (1997-2009). Since the year 2009 till now Kazimierz Gierlotka, Ph.D., D.Sc., Eng. has the post of the head of the Department. In the year 2004 the Department changed its name to Department of Power Electronics, Electrical Drives and Robotics. The beginnings of the research carried out in the Department - second half of the sixties - coincided with the early stage of the world thyristor power electronics. Since then we were developing power electronics systematically starting from DC thyristor drives, through AC thyristor and than transistor drives to high frequency conversion (~20MHz). The research work was and now is aimed at industry applications; the AC CFI thyristor drive for industry (1980), the first developed in Poland, can be an example. It allows us to gain expertise in science and technology and particularly in power electronics. The research interests have been broadened beyond power electronics and electrical drives reaching industrial electronics, electroheat, electrotechnology, superconductivity applications, mobile robots and some areas of mechatronics. The Department is involved in regular international RTD cooperation contributing to the common projects significantly. Now the Department's academic staff consists of 23 people with 4 professors, 17 assistant professors and 2 assistants/Ph.D. students in it.